Michelle Obama’s White and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

So this is weird, huh? I don’t make cookies very often and here we have two cookie posts in a row. I blame my budget and general laziness, but I also just honestly have been having more success with cookies recently. In the past I would make cookies solely for the dough. Seriously, I would have a craving so I’d whip up a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe sans eggs and then roll up the dough to freeze for future munching. Not exactly the healthiest habit, haha, but it would last me months and if I suddenly needed cookies for a party I could just take the frozen dough out of the freezer, slice the rounds off, and bake immediately. …now I’ve got you thinking, haven’t I? 😉

However, my last few recipes have turned out so well baked that I just thought I’d keep giving this proper cookie thing a try. Here we have Michelle Obama’s submission for the 2012 Family Circle cookie contest. This year, it seems like the contest itself has gotten more press than the actual recipes as many see the event as an out-dated biased enabling the women-in-the-kitchen stereotype. “If it’s a presidential competition, why doesn’t the President submit a recipe?” one of my coworkers asked. I see the point, but I also read that when Hillary Clinton ran for president in 2008, Bill was the one to submit a recipe – which in my mind makes the competition completely fair. We shouldn’t be complaining about how the wives are being asked to bake, we should be complaining about why we aren’t electing female presidents!

It was tricky for me to stick to the original recipe in this one. I’m used to automatically reducing both the sugar and butter in cookie recipes, unless they use only a minimal amount. This one also calls for white, milk, and dark chocolate when I would normally want dark, dark, and extra dark, haha. Still, the point is to make both recipes as written and then vote for your favorites. It’s a little late to cast your vote I’m afraid – sorry I discovered this recipe after the fact! – but if you’re like me and are still curious as to which cookie will win over your heart and stomach, read on:

Michelle Obama’s White and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

(makes about 5 dozen cookies!)

Ingredients:

2¼   C   AP flour

1   t   baking soda

1   t   salt

1   C   unsalted butter (2 sticks), softened

1   stick butter-flavored vegetable shortening*

¾   C   granulated sugar

¾   C   packed brown sugar

1   t   vanilla extract

2   eggs

1  C  each of white, milk, and mint chocolate chips**

2   C   finely chopped walnuts

* Note: I used Earthbalance.

** Note: the source recipe suggests chopped Andes mint pieces (which I love), but I couldn’t find them anywhere around here (are Andes mints only a States thing?). I ended up buying white and milk chocolate chips and then chopping up several dark chocolate mint bars. I still got the white/milk/dark/mint combination, just in a different way.

Procedure:

1) Preheat oven to 375°F. In a small bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. In a bowl of a stand mixer/large bowl with electric mixer cream together butter, shortening, sugars, and vanilla extract.

2) Add eggs to butter mixture, one at a time and blending well after each. On low speed slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet until incorporated. By hand, mix in the three kinds of chocolate chips and nuts – the dough will be PACKED but don’t worry, they’ll turn out perfectly. By hand, drop rounded tablespoons of the dough onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake until golden brown and darker around the edges, about 10-12 minutes. Let cool on cookie sheets for 5 minutes or so before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Beezer’s Notes:

These cookies are a really neat take on classic chocolate chip and my office went through the two dozen or so that I brought in before the day was out. The blend of chocolates made for a really great combination and these cookies are so jam-packed with goodies that you can get different flavors with every bite. I’ll still admit that I will reduce the sugar and butter in future renditions, though. With all the fillings the dough really doesn’t need to be that sweet and I really hate it when I have to wipe my fingers after handling a cookie. I bet you can cut out half the butter without losing taste. Overall, Michelle Obama’s cookies did surprise me and I can’t wait to see how they’ll stack up to Ann Romney’s later this week (I’m saving that recipe for when my dad comes to visit, he loves oatmeal).

Overall Enjoyment:   ♥   ♥   ♥

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’ve been in a baking mood recently, too! Just made homemade nutter butters, gluten free, of course. And they are intense. And heavenly. I think I’ll give yours a try, once I burn off this current batch!!

    Reply
  2. Must be something in the air, haha. And ooo, I haven’t had nutter-butters in ages! You should post your GF recipe on your site.

    Reply
  1. Ann Romney’s M&M Cookies « Beezer's Bites

Leave a Reply

