Chocolate Lover’s Cookies

Wow, what a crazy month. I had my mind blown during a week-long crash coarse in statistical methods for astronomers, my stomach challenged while visiting home the following week (A big thank you to everyone who took me out/joined me for dinner in VT! Love you guys and not only because you feed me Thai food, haha), and my sanity tested upon return to Nova Scotia when it seemed like anything that could go wrong spontaneously decided to do just that.

In the last few weeks we found out we had missed the application deadline to renew our lease (we never received the email) and were told our apartment has been reserved for someone else (we have about 3 weeks until we’re out), I fell behind in my research report and had to turn in the first draft painfully short a few sections (nothing worse than knowing how much better you could have done), and I apparently failed at my effort to be responsible with my phone while traveling abroad (turned off data, roaming, texting, bought U.S. minutes, etc.) since it was shut off yesterday with an overcharge of $250 CAD. When it rains, it pours.

BUT the moments of panic have receded and I’m starting to get back into the swing of things: the Canadian‘s in charge of finding our new place, research is on a roll, and – with a very painful account transfer – the phone bill was paid. Plus, there’s nothing some good scratch-baking can’t fix! So, now let’s move on to much more fun and *cough* inexpensive things like…

Chocolate Lover’s Cookies (from My Baking Addiction)

Ingredients:

½   C   unsalted butter, softened (or 1 stick)

¾   C   granular sugar

1   egg

1   t   vanilla extract

1   C   AP flour

1/3   C   high-quality cocoa powder

¼   t   baking powder

¼   t   baking soda

1    pinch of salt

1   C   semi-sweet chocolate chips, plus extra for topping

Procedure:

1) Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl beat butter, sugar, vanilla, and the egg until light and fluffy. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet about a third at a time until incorporated – the dough will be very dry. Add chocolate chips and give it a few more good stirs.

2) Take rounded teaspoons of dough and shape into balls with your hands. Flatten balls into disks before placing on the cookie sheets. Bake for 5-8 minutes or just until set (careful here, it’s very easy to overbake them as they’re so dark!). Let cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheets before transferring to a wire rack. As cookies are cooling, gently press a few extra chocolate chips to the tops of each.

Beezer’s Notes:

These are some serious chocolate cookies. They are perfect for those annoyingly persistent cravings, midnight indulgences, and gifts – as they are quite hearty and travel well. The extra chips on top are brilliant since they not only squeeze in as much chocolate as humanly possible, but also make these some of the most adorable cookies I’ve ever had the pleasure to bake. Move over, Chocolate Cloud Cookies: we’ve got a new recipe in the house!

Overall Enjoyment:   ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Dan

     /  July 2, 2012

    Hi, sorry to hear about all the troubles. The apartment affair sounds devistating, and unusual. Anyways, I’m sure the chocolate helped quench the bad news. Lovely first picture, by the way. There are so many fascinating things about that picture, that seemed to come out perfect. I could write a report, not the stats one you have, on that picture.

    Reply
    • Haha, well luckily my report was on my research and not statistics (thank god) although I’m sure I will be forced to use math at some point in my career. 😉 The apartment news wasn’t devastating, just really bad timing. Also, I think you’re confusing a nice photo with a chocolate craving…better make some cookies fast!

      Reply
      • Dan

         /  July 3, 2012

        Hi, statistics are incessantly misused, but no fear, you and the folks in and surrounding the X-ray corner of the grad room are smart ‘cookies’. Wow, that was a good pun, I think. Anyways, can you send me the full resolution image by email. haha, my Dad banned me from cooking 😉

  2. These chocolate cookies look absolutely lovely!

    Reply
  3. In my humble opinion, there’s no such thing as too much chocolate! These look delicious!

    Reply
  4. Thanks Angie! I completely agree mydailymorsel, thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
  5. those look so yummy and absolutely perfect!!

    Reply
  6. These ones were really good!

    Reply
  7. Thanks guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

