Hot Spiced Buttered Rum

Some Fridays you just need a treat. A warm, spicy, strongly alcoholic treat. We’ve had a bottle of rum sitting on top of our fridge for months now, waiting for an occasion. The Carolans is consumed often (usually in black tea, but over ice or in coffee every now and then), but I think I’ve established how much we love Irish Cream. The rum was originally destined for a batch of rum & cokes, but when plans fell through it began collecting dust in the kitchen. When I noticed a rather tasty-sounding rum drink on huffingtonpost.ca – and then realized we have all the ingredients necessary to pull it off in under 10 minutes – I was dusting off that bottle in a flash. 

I’ve now whipped up this quick spiked ‘n spicy drink several times throughout the weekend. Folks agree it’s a holiday-type mix with both the sweetness and warm flavors usually invoked around Christmas time. In that case, this drink’s a bit too late in the season to be fashionable I suppose, but I personally will continue to love it as long as it’s slushy and cold outside. 🙂

Hot Spiced Buttered Rum (adapted from Ron Abuelo’s recipe)

*enough for 2 small servings *

Ingredients:

3   oz.   rum of your choice (or 2 shot-glass’ worth)

2   T   honey

2   T   brown sugar

1   T   unsalted butter

1   t   ground cinnamon

¼   t   freshly grated nutmeg

¼   t   ground cloves

2   whole cinnamon sticks

about 24 oz. boiling water (or enough to fill two of your mugs)

½   C   freshly-whipped cream

Procedure:

1) Melt butter until just liquified but not separated, either in a small pot on the stove or slowly in the microwave. As butter is melting, mix honey, sugar, and spices in a small bowl until it forms a smooth paste. Add liquified butter and stir until smooth.

2) Add about ¼ – ½ Cup of boiling water to the butter/spice mixture and whisk until sugar has dissolved and a slurry has formed. Pour a shot of rum into each mug, divide the spice slurry between the two, and top with boiling water – make sure to leave at least half an inch of space from the top for the whipped cream.

3) Top the drinks with a generous dollop of whipped cream and place a cinnamon stick on each. Serve immediately.

Beezer’s Notes:

I changed this recipe quite a bit to better suit our tastes. First, the source recipe calls for 4 oz. of liquor per serving and – while I’m usually not shy when it comes to strong hot, sweet drinks – I thought ~3 shots in a single mug was a tad much. I assumed Ron was using larger glasses and so I simply split the recipe between two. However, even split, the spices were a bit heavy and formed a thick sediment at the bottom of our mugs. Therefore, in the second batch I reduced all but the sweet stuff to lighten it up and was told it was an improvement. Finally, I added the whipped cream topping (c’mon, you have to have whipped cream on a drink like this!) and ignored the request for caramel vodka. Vodka isn’t my thing, but the idea of a caramel flavor is intriguing…maybe caramelizing the sugar with butter in a pan before adding the spices would provide a caramel twist. Gotta love future ideas!

Overall Enjoyment:      ♥   ♥

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jeff

     /  March 17, 2013

    Hello there I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake but am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for the blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it, so when I have time I will be back to read more, please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

