Roasted Cauliflower with Shiitake and Sage

Let’s hear it for the first natural sunlight photograph in months! Woohoo! Wow, it really does make a difference…and reminds me of just how much I’m missing living where I do. My apartment itself is really nice compared to most in our area, but it sits at the back of the house in between two significantly larger buildings. Direct sunlight just barely makes it in our windows for about one hour in the morning and another hour in the afternoon. I even began taking vitamin D this winter on a recommendation from my doctor and was amazed at how much better I felt. If you live in New England or other areas that have more clouds than rays, you might want to look into it. More energy, better attitude, deeper sleep? Yes please!

Now, while the photograph above makes me very happy, I have to admit that I just plumb forgot to take any photos until that last one…oops. This recipe is ridiculously easy, though, so I have no doubt that you can make it yourself without the photo tutorial. It also originally came from Terry Walters‘ new book Clean Start that I am loving more every day. I am not a “clean foods” devotee, but I definitely agree with her return-to-the-source attitude and admire her skill at making whole food meals both easy and fun to cook. If you missed the Green Fries in the last post, go check them out – they’re from the same book.

Roasted Cauliflower with Shiitake and Sage

(adapted from Clean Start by Terry Walters)

Ingredients:

1   large head cauliflower

1   dozen Brussels sprouts

½   lb.   shiitake mushrooms

2   garlic cloves, peeled

¼   C   fresh sage leaves (no, my love affair with this herb isn’t over yet, haha)

¼   C   fresh oregano (or 1½ T dried)

2     t   coarse sea salt

¼   C   EVOO

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Prepare cauliflower by removing and discarding outer leaves and inner stems. Cut florets into small pieces and place in a large mixing bowl. Prepare sprouts by cutting away and discarding dry ends. Half sprouts (or quarter them if they are large) and add to cauliflower. Remove stems from mushrooms, slice into ¼” strips, and add to veggies.
  3. With food processor running, drop in garlic and process until minced. Add sage, oregano, salt, and oil and pulse to chop herbs and blend ingredients. Remove from processor and pour over vegetables. Toss veggies gently to coat evenly. Transfer to baking dish and roast for 15 minutes.
  4. Remove from oven, toss to redistribute and prevent burning. Return to oven and roast for an additional 15 – 20 minutes or until tender but not mushy. Remove from oven and serve.

Beezer’s Notes:

You know, I wouldn’t have made this recipe if I didn’t think it would be tasty. That said, I really underestimated just how tasty roasted cauliflower, mushrooms, and Brussels sprouts could be! The sprouts themselves caused me some anxiety because I have never ever prepared them before. What if I failed and they became all mushy? What if they cooked up fine but I hated the taste? I would be doomed to buy such a simple veggie from more talented cooks for the rest of my life!! …ok, maybe that’s a little overly-dramatic, but I was still too chicken to try cooking them until I read this recipe. And you know what? They turned out great!

Flavor combinations are really what make this dish a winner. The sweet sage/oregano blend really pulls all the earthy flavors together and balanced out the salt. While I thought this would be more of a veggie side for dinner, the depth of flavor in this dish allows it to stand front and center as the main course if you want – just serve it over rice or (as the source recipe suggests) with lentils and you’ve got yourself a hearty meal sans meat.

Overall Enjoyment: ♥   ♥   ♥   ♥

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I think I’ll pull out my sage one last time for this dish. Great combination of ingredients. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  2. Looks yummy! I want to go make it now! Just found your blog and love it! Great pictures!

    Reply
  3. wgfoodie: it is definitely worth using up the last of your herbs for this one! if i am ever lucky enough to meet Terry Walters in my lifetime i will pass on the thanks, haha. let me know how your dish turns out!

    jessncanfield: thank you, i appreciate you stopping by! with all the trouble i have with lighting in my place that really means a lot. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Dijon-Braised Brussels Sprouts « Beezer's Bites

Leave a Reply

