Chicken Thighs with Orange Ginger Glaze

Remember in my Tilapia Piccata post I mentioned how I was impressed with the whole, unprocessed ingredients in most of Cooking Light’s 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Recipes and how you’d see more of them? Well, I supposed I’m being optimistic in assuming folks actually read my entries, haha, but – trust me – I did say that and here I’m making good on that promise. Considering this was another around-midnight dinner, I’m glad the photos came out as well as they did so you can see the lovely glaze this recipe makes…

This recipe was tagged almost immediately by me both because of it’s simplicity and for its Asian flavors (if you didn’t know: I love Asian food). I was originally going to stick with the boneless chicken thighs called for, but after remembering my absolutely delicious successes Chicken Mole and Chicken with Fennel and Tomatoes I decided to stick with what works for me and get bone-in thighs.

Another interesting bit of this meal had nothing to do with the original recipe, but with a unique veggie I found at the market the day before. I had never heard of Valentine radishes before, but the sample slices showed a stunning dark pink center in a greenish-white root. They were described as being slightly milder in flavor than the traditional Cherry Belle we’re used to, but not as mild as – say – Daikon. At the time I didn’t have a recipe in mind, but bought three of the baseball-sized roots figuring they’d make a beautiful snack if nothing else.

I ended up making a simple side with radish slices, toasted sliced almonds, and rice vinegar. I was tempted to shred the radishes, but really wanted to show their unique colors and left them as disks; this made them a little cumbersome to eat, though, so in the future I’ll go with my first hunch and shred them.


Chicken Thighs with Orange Ginger Glaze

( adapted from 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Recipes, Fall ’10)

Ingredients:

For the Chicken and Glaze…

4   bone-in chicken thighs, skin removed

½   t   salt

¼   t   black pepper

1   pinch garlic powder

1 ½   t   EVOO

1   navel orange

3   T   honey

1   t   grated, peeled fresh ginger

chopped green onions for garnish (optional)

For the Radish Side…

2   Valetine radishes, very thinly sliced or shredded

½   C   sliced almonds, toasted

3   T   rice wine vinegar

Procedure:

  1. Prepare radish side first as it should sit a while to develop the flavors: toss radish, toasted almonds, and vinegar in a bowl, cover, and set off to the side.
  2. Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook 3 – 4 minutes on each side or until browned.
  3. As chicken is cooking, grate about 1 teaspoon orange rind and squeeze out ¼ Cup of orange juice. Add the rind, juice, honey, and ginger to the chicken. Scrape the bottom of the pan to loosen any browned bits and bring to boil.
  4. As soon as the liquid is boiling, reduce heat and simmer – uncovered – until the chicken is done and orange glaze is syrupy (about 10 minutes).
  5. Sprinkle with chopped green onions if desired and serve with radish side and white rice.

(serves 2)


Beezer’s Notes:

This was a pretty tasty dinner! The glaze was the perfect sticky consistency and the radishes went well with the Asian theme. As I mentioned above, I think I will shred Valentine radishes the next time I use them since they are a bit of a mouthful if left as disks, but their flavor was great. If you aren’t a radish fan, the source recipe calls for steamed broccoli with almonds. I won’t be insulted if you opt for the broccoli although I personally can only stand broccoli raw, haha. Oh! And my chive plant finally gave up the ghost that night so I didn’t have any garnish. A few slices of green onions or the like would have gone a long way with the flavors and I’m sorry I missed them.

The only thing that really bothered me with this recipe was the sweetness of the glaze. Using honey as a base allows the glaze to reduce quickly and get that sticky consistency, but honey – as most folks know – is incredibly sweet and none of that sweetness is hidden here. To be honest, I really would have called this a honey-orange glaze, since I could barely taste the ginger. I have next to no experience with sauces or glazes so I’m not sure what I could do as an alternative here. I’d like to use only 1 Tablespoon honey to let the ginger and orange flavors really shine through, but then I’d be adding more liquid and the reduction would take forever. Any suggestions?

Overall Enjoyment: ♥    ♥    ♥

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Do you have me to thank for loving Asian Food? 🙂 LOve the pictures. They look delicious!

    Reply
  2. Thanks! It’s trickier to get good photos now since my apartment is on the back of a larger building and we’re in shadows for all but 2 hours in the morning.

    And yes, you should definitely get some credit since I think I was eating your Filipino food before I even knew what Asian food WAS, haha! You guys never did get me to try those anchovies though… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

