Homemade Whole-Wheat Crackers

I usually have at least one box of crackers around. I also rarely ever finish a box of crackers before the last half of them go stale. There have even been times when I’ve thrown out two or three boxes at once, all half full, of crackers in varied states of stale-ness. Shameful, I’ll admit.

I’m enough of a cheese fan to eat slices straight off the block if I’m craving a snack and, when I do in fact want something with the cheese, I’ll pair it with crisp apple wedges. My use of crackers is usually limited to soups, hummus, and visiting friends. So, when I saw this post by Purple Foodie I was excited: here I had the opportunity to make batches of crackers as I needed them – not only a money-saver by making my own, but also a food-saver by allowing me to make only what I needed!

Homemade Whole-Wheat Crackers (adapted from the Purple Foodie)

Ingredients:

1      C     whole-wheat flour

1       t     baking powder

½    C     water

1½   t     EVOO, plus more for brushing

sea salt to taste

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Whisk dry ingredients together and then add the liquid. Kneed the resulting dough about 5 – 10 times or just until it comes together.
  3. Cut the dough in half and place one half aside. Generously flour the work surface and roll half the dough to about 1/8 ” in thickness. Using a pizza cutter or knife, slice the dough horizontally and vertically to create small 1 ” x  ½” rectangles.
  4. Place rectangles on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Brush the tops with EVOO and generously sprinkle with salt. Flip them over and repeat to dress the other sides.
  5. Bake crackers for about 5 minutes or until puffed and dark brown around the edges. Be watchful, mine went from “almost there” to “burnt” in the blink of an eye. Tricky devils.
  6. Slide baked crackers onto a plate or cooling rack and repeat from Step 3 with the remaining half of dough.
  7. Start munchin’!

Beezer’s Notes:

Purple Foodie’s original recipe for this used white, AP flour and called for hand-formed crackers shaped like mini Naan. They look delicious but I failed at hand-forming! Haha, sad but true: my little ovals turned into small, blonde, turd-shaped crackers that – while tasty – were embarrassing to look at. I decided to immediately make a second batch. Along with resigning myself to a rolling pin and pizza cutter, I also decided to switch white flour with whole-wheat. I’ll admit I like the lighter taste of white flour better, but if I’m going to drown my crackers in salt (which I most certainly did) then I should try to make them a bit healthier in other aspects. The key word here is “try”. 😉

The end result was a plate-full of bite-sized crispy crackers. They were puffed and perfectly salted. I do wish I had added a bit more EVOO to the sides of the dough, though. My original batch of white flour crackers tasted fine, but whole-wheat flour is much heartier and seems drier by itself. In the future I’d like to play around with herbs or cheese in the dough to kick up the flavor a bit. Still, plain or not, I finished these off within three days – a much better rate than any of the boxed brands I’ve bought in the past.

Overall Enjoyment: ♥  ♥  ♥

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

