Chocolate Peanut Butter Microwave Mug Cake

If you’re anything like me, you’re probably thinking that the words “microwave” and “cake” should never be used in the same sentence. “Cake” and “mug” is alright, it summons up an image of a cute mini-dessert eaten with a spoon…but microwave cake??

As a loyal pie fan, it takes a fantastic cake to win over my taste buds. Therefore, I really didn’t have much hope for any of the recipes in Stacey Miller’s book, 101 Recipes for Microwave Mug Cakes, but did that stop me from trying something so ingeniously horrific? Nope.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Microwave Mug Cake (from 101 Recipes for Microwave Mug Cakes)

Ingredients:

1           egg

1     T     peanut butter, smooth or chunky

2     T     milk

2     T     oil

1/8   t     vanilla extract

1/8   t    baking powder

4     T    sugar

2     T    unsweetened cocoa powder

4     T    all-purpose flour

Procedure:

  1. If needed, prepare the mug by coating the inside lightly with cooking spray. I say “if needed” because the source recipe states it, but I went without and was fine. I ate my cake in the mug though so I suppose if you’re going to flip out your cake you may want to spray it to ensure a smooth transition.
  2. In a small bowl, beat egg first with a fork then add the other liquid ingredients. Then, slowly add the dry ingredients, whisking throughout, until all clumps are gone.
  3. Pour the batter into the mug (do not fill more than halfway) and smooth the top with a spoon. Thump the mug firmly on the tabletop several times to remove excess air bubbles. Place mug on top of a microwaveable small plate and place both in the microwave.
  4. Bake for 2-3 minutes. Check the cake by inserting a toothpick in the middle. If the toothpick comes out dry, the cake is done.
  5. Let the cake cool for at least 2 minutes before either frosting or removing.

Beezer’s Notes:

Well. Considering it is a cake baked in the microwave, it’s…not bad. Not bad, and that’s about all I can say, haha. I suppose if you are absolutely desperate for a cake and had no one close by with which to share a traditional cake/cupcakes with, this would be the recipe for you. I see a much better use for these cakes in a family with young children. Ms. Miller’s book does, in fact, hold 101 varieties of microwave mug cakes (or “MMCs” as she likes to call them) – a taste for every palate. Kids would love to help measure the ingredients, mix them together, and watch the cake puff up in the microwave (from a safe distance, of course ;)). Older children, I’d say starting at 7 or 8 years old, can whip these up on their own.

Wouldn’t that be a fantastic birthday party?? A bunch of kids, a buffet-line of ingredients (or maybe a basic batter with a buffet-line of additions: banana, chocolate, sprinkles…), pop them in the microwave, and take turns watching your “build-your-own” cake bake up before your eyes! Now I wish I knew some munchkins to test my idea on, haha.

Overall Enjoyment: ♥  ♥ for adults,   ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥   for kids

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Bradley

     /  April 7, 2010

    YUM. Plain and simple. I’d like to eat one right now please. =)

    Reply
  2. zane ashleigh

     /  August 25, 2011

    i made this….SO gross. way too dry.

    Reply
    • Zane, I’m somewhere between you and Bradley: I don’t think they’re gross, but I also haven’t made another one since…which should give you an idea of what they’re like, haha.

      Baking in a microwave is also very finicky particularly baking something as small as a mug-sized portion, so I’m sorry to hear your cake came out so dry. My mini-cake wasn’t dry, it was just a sort of odd texture that I didn’t like.

      If I have time in the future (I just moved to Halifax a few days ago to start my grad studies) I’m hoping to improve the recipe to something I DO enjoy. I’m thinking applesauce instead of the oil or maybe even yogurt. If you play around and find something that works for you, let me know! 🙂

      Reply
    • emily

       /  December 7, 2011

      only put it in for 2:45 or it will dry up also i woul dbut a little more that 2tbs of oil

      Reply
      • Thanks for the recommendation, Emily. Unfortunately in my new place we don’t have a microwave so I can’t continue to play around with these funny little cakes anymore, but glad to hear you’re able to make a moist one! 🙂

  3. Molly

     /  January 6, 2012

    Mine wasn’t dry (probably because I accidentally added too much oil), but it wasn’t ridiculously moist, either. Also, as a self-proclaimed chocoholic, the chocolate flavor fell a little flat for me. Next time I make this, I think I’m going to use melted semisweet chocolate in place of the cocoa powder. And maybe, instead of adding extra oil like Emily suggested, I’ll add a little more peanut butter next time to add some moisture and up the peanut butter taste a bit.

    One thing I did this time, in addition to the vanilla, was to add a bit of almond extract. It added a little something extra to the cake.

    There’s definitely a lot of potential here. I’ll almost certainly play around with the recipe and find something that suits my tastes. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the feedback Molly! What you’re playing around with definitely sounds promising. You guys are making me miss my microwave more and more, haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

