Mango Lassi

Mango lassis are by far one of my most favorite drinks. I have happy memories of going to the small, family-owned Indian restaurant in town with my high school posse. We would share assorted naan, ripping and dipping into mild curries (did I mention I am a wimp when it comes to spice?), and each and every one of us would be sipping chilled mango lassis.

So, when I read The Purple Foodie‘s post on strawberry lassis I knew what had to be done; except that I didn’t have any strawberries at the time and, while her strawberry lassi did sound (and look!) delicious, I was really craving mango. I suppose I could have gone out and bought a fresh mango, but being the lazy bum that I am I decided to use some mango sorbet I already had in my freezer – no need to add sugar!

Mango Lassi (adapted from The Purple Foodie)

Ingredients:

½  C     mango sorbet

1    C     nonfat plain yogurt

3    C     lowfat milk, plus extra as needed

Procedure:

  1. Toss all ingredients into a blender and blend on medium until smooth. Add more milk as needed to get the right consistency (not thick like a milkshake, but smooth and light).
  2. Kick the blender speed up to high for 10 seconds or so for aeration.
  3. Indulge.

Beezer’s Notes:

The evening after making a pitcher-full of delicious mango lassi (and drinking it all. by myself. the very same night), I decided to try a strawberry version. I begged a cup of strawberry sorbet from my boyfriend and whipped up another lassi. This time, though, I was disappointed. I used the same proportions as the night before, but the strawberry flavor was overwhelmed by the dairy. I guess mango has a naturally stronger flavor than strawberry, at least in sorbet-form. If you’d like to try the strawberry lassi using sorbet, I suggest doubling the amount of sorbet and reducing the yogurt. You’ll need the milk for consistency.

Overall Enjoyment: ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

